DIY Twine & Clothespin Picture Frame Makeover

This is a fun way to makeover an old picture frame, especially if the glass is broken. Here is my original frame:

Picture Frame Makeover

I love the detailing on the frame but my current home decor is mostly tan/bronze/brown tones so I didn’t have a place for this old silver frame. Because it has sentimental value, I hated to get rid of it but accidentally broke the glass when I was stowing it away.

If you have an old frame you’d like to repurpose or freshen up, follow these simple steps to create a modern twine and clothespin picture frame.

You will need:

Picture Frame (my frame has an opening of about 13.5″ by 10.5″)

Scissors

Twine

Mini clothespins

Pictures

Cardstock (for mounting pictures if you choose)

Stapler

Tape (double sided works best)

If painting/glazing, you will also need:

Gloves

Washcloth

Paintbrush

Paint or spray paint

Glaze

Step 1: Remove glass and picture matte.

If your frame has glass or a matte, carefully remove those items, keeping in mind how sharp the glass can be (I nearly sliced off my thumb!).

Step 2: Paint frame.

Note: If you’re not painting your frame, skip to step 4.

If you want your frame to be a fresh new color, head to the store and pick up some paint. Or, if you’re like me, you may already have the paint you need. I used Krylon Brushed Metallic Satin Caramel Latte spray paint.

Painted Frame - Krylon Caramel Latte Spray Paint

Step 3: Glaze your frame for added detailing.

If your frame is textured, it’s a great idea to take the time to glaze it. I wanted the scrolly detailing on my frame to stand out after I spray painted it gold, so I added a decorative glaze in Java Brown.

For instructions on working with glaze, click How to Glaze a Picture Frame.

glazed-frame

Step 4: Select & print pictures.

Look at your frame and determine how many pictures you want to hang and then determine how big each can be and what orientation you want them to hang in. My frame has a 10.5″ x 13.5″ opening and I decided to hang 1 vertical 4×6 and 1 horizontal 4×6 picture.

Step 5: Mount pictures onto cardstock.

I wanted continuity between my images so I selected pictures with similar colors and then mounted them on some pretty deep red cardstock. Since the cardstock is thick, this will keep my pictures flat and prevent them from warping over time.

Determine how much of the cardstock you want to see around each picture and cut to size. Use double-stick tape to mount each picture to the cardstock.

2-4x6-pictures

Step 6: Cut and position twine.

Roll out some of the twine across the back of your frame and cut to size. Be sure to leave plenty of excess on each end. Attach the clothespins and pictures to the twine and lay it out to determine exactly where you want to staple the twine.

cut-twine-position-on-frame

Step 7: Attach twine to your frame.

Once you know where you want your twine to be, staple it to the one edge on the back side of your frame. I did 2 staples close together. Then, set your frame upright and hold up the opposite end of the twine to see if you like the positioning and determine how much slack you want the twine to have. Then, staple to opposite side with 2 staples.

attach-twine-check-positioning

Step 8: Attach burlap

Lay the fame face down and cover the back with burlap. One piece is ideal, but I had a roll of burlap from Hobby Lobby that was only about half the height of my frame so it took 2 pieces. Cut out notches for the hooks and then staple all around the back of the frame making sure to keep the burlap pulled taught.

Staple burlap to back of frame

Step 9: Hang and enjoy!

This was part of my collage wall I’ve been creating various pieces for. This is definitely one of my favorites!

DIY twine frame craft

#krylon #spraypaint #pictureframe #craft #DIYframe

Burlap, twine & picture frame craft

Picture Frame Makeover Craft Idea

 

 

Leave a Reply

