Easy Paper Mache Wall Art for Under $5

Easy DIY paper mache wall art craft ideaIf you’ve ever searched high and low for a specific piece of artwork to fill a blank void on your wall then you know how difficult it can sometimes be to find what you’re looking for.

For the longest time I searched for some large palm tree pieces to hang above the bed in my palm tree themed bedroom. I found many pieces that were the exact size but didn’t exactly match my color scheme. So frustrating! I finally just bought one of those wall decals that says “Always kiss me goodnight” and gave up the search.

Then, I decided to create a collage of pictures and artwork going up my staircase and a new search began. The color scheme was very specific – tan, brown and red. This was not easy. I finally decided I’d never find what I was looking for but I could create it on my own.

One of the pieces in my collection of DIY artwork is this paper mache heart covered with scrapbook paper. The best part is, it only cost $3.99 (because I already had the Mod Podge).

Simple Steps for Creating Your Own Paper Mache Wall Art

Scroll to bottom for complete list of supplies.

Paper mache art supplies

Step 1: Buy paper mache shape.

I was searching for something I could cover with scrapbook paper and came across this cheap paper mache heart-shaped box at Hobby Lobby. This box was only $2.99 and I decided to create my artwork from the lid of the box.

Paper Mache Heart Box Hobby Lobby

Step 2: Find scrapbook paper to cover your shape.

After finding this box, I wandered over to Hobby Lobby’s scrapbook paper section and found the perfect gold and beige animal print  paper. It was on sale for $1.

Animal Print Scrapbook Paper

Step 3: Cut scrapbook paper.

Flip your paper over and trace your paper mache cutout with a pencil. Then, cut just inside your line. Place your cutout paper onto the front of your heart and check that none of the paper overlaps the edges of the paper mache. If it needs trimming in any areas, trim it down.

Cut scapbook paper into shape

Step 4: Use Mod Podge to adhere scrapbook paper to paper mache.

Use your sponge brush to cover the paper mache and the back side of the scrapbook paper with Mod Podge. I used the matte finish but you can use gloss if you prefer a shinier look. Work quickly – once the paper mache and scrapbook paper are covered with a nice, even coat of Mod Podge, place the paper heart onto the paper mache, smooth it down with your hands, then cover the decorative side of your scrapbook paper with a nice, even coat of Mod Podge. I also cover the uncovered sides of the heart with Mod Podge so the overall finish matched.

Mod Podge scrapbook paper to paper mache

Step 5: Let it dry, then hang.

One it dried, I simply hung it up with a nail.

DIY Scrapbook Paper Mache Wall Art Craft

Supplies for DIY Mod Podge Wall Art:

Paper mache heart (or other shape)

Scrapbook paper

Pencil

Scissors

Mod Podge (I used Matte finish)

Sponge brush

If you enjoyed this post, you might also enjoy my Silhouette Canvas Art Tutorial.

Leave a Reply

