Mermaid Costume & Accessories (for less!)

I’m so excited October is here and I’ve just finished up this year’s costume. I’m dressing up as a Mermaid and have had so much fun creating my own mermaid bra and costume accessories.

I haven’t been this eager for Halloween since I created my flaming circus ring for my Circus Ring Master costume.

Here’s how I created a custom mermaid costume for Halloween & saved money!

Mermaid Skirt

There are so many amazing mermaid tail skirts on Etsy but they’re more than I wanted to spend.

I found one on Amazon that was reasonable priced ($40) and had good reviews but it didn’t qualify for Amazon Prime free 2-Day shipping. So it was really $47. Boo!

Here’s how I got the same skirt for only $29.30 (including shipping).

It’s gorgeous!

blog-mermaid-tail-skirt

Mermaid Bra

I got this amazing bra on sale at Victoria’s Secret (The Date Pushup Bra). I was so excited to get started I didn’t get a picture of the plain bra. Here it is half embellished:

blog-mermaid-victorias-secret-bra

Then, I got these embellishments at Michaels and Hobby Lobby and hot glued them on:

  • Shells (Michaels)
  • Pearl Border Stickers (Michaels)
  • Strung Bead Shells (Michaels) I used a total of 8 strands.
  • Dimensional Shell Stickers (Hobby Lobby)
  • Starfish Bracelet (Hobby Lobby)
  • Rhinestones (I already had those)

blog-mermaid-embellishments

Here’s how it came out:

blog-mermaid-bra-embellished-1blog-mermaid-bra-embellished-2blog-mermaid-bra-embellished-3blog-mermaid-bra-embellished-4

Mermaid Hair Accessories

For hair accessories, I used:

  • 6 bobby pins (had on hand)
  • 6 shells (Michaels – extra ones from bra)
  • 1 Rhinestone Starfish (Hobby Lobby)
  • 1 Alligator Hair Clip (Hobby Lobby)

I glued some leftover shells to some bobby pins – an idea I got from Pinterest.

blog-mermaid-shells-for-bobby-pins

I also hot glued a starfish to a hair clip.

blog-mermaid-starfish-hair-clip

blog-mermaid-glue-rhinestone-starfish-hair-barrette

blog-mermaid-hair-clips

Mermaid Necklace

All I had to do was add a chain to this coral reef charm (both from Hobby Lobby) to create the perfect necklace:

blog-mermaid-coral-necklace

blog-mermaid-coral-necklace-diy

Now I just have to wait a couple more weeks and I can get all dolled up with my mermaid Bellami hair extensions & I’ll be ready to go!

UPDATE:

Here I am on Halloween:

blog-mermaid-halloween-costume-diy.jpg

Mermaid Braid with Shells:

blog-mermaid-hair-live-laugh-love-to-craft.jpg

Pin me!

blog-mermaid-costume-bra-hair-accessories-diy

 

Leave a Reply

